What to do?

Ughh, the kids and I all slept through the alarm this morning but Esteban didn’t. He was up at 5 am and pretty cranky by the time I got up at 6:45 am. He said that he couldn’t take it anymore and wanted to move. Of course, nothing is that simple. We have to find a house and then it takes at least a week to arrange the lease. I am feeling pretty stressed out. I am trying to stay positive and visualize the result that we want but it’s hard to know how this is going to play out.

Everybody talks a lot here but nobody seems to move on stuff. The Administrador is full of crap, excuse my French. It’s 2:45 pm and he is already done with work and off to Bogota. He tells me  over the phone that he will be back tomorrow and that there are ways to deal with this, but I have the sense that people tell you what you want to hear here. I don’t really believe any of it. And after all that talk, our nanny’s mom never went to talk to the neighbor. What’s up with that?

Meanwhile, our nanny has to sign the lease on her new place by Thursday or she will lose it. And her brother-in-law is tired of her furniture in his living room. They have all been living at her sister’s house for a week now and everybody has had enough. Do we trust that this will work out and tell her to go ahead and sign the lease? Or do we look for a place?

As a side note, it’s very interesting how cultural differences are showing up here. First of all, I don’t think the Colombians really get why this is such a big deal for us. Their attitude seems to be “yep, there is always a difficult one in every conjunto.” They are so complacent about it that it’s starting to drive me crazy. Meanwhile, every American or European foreigner we know says “I don’t know how you stand it. I couldn’t stand it. If I were you, I would move.” It’s clear that our tolerance for noise, lack of peace, and crazy neighbors is significantly lower.

And the other cultural difference I am seeing I already alluded to… I think in the US, we are conditioned to say what we mean and mean what we say. Go in, resolve things and get on with it in a straight-forward manner. Here people just talk and talk and nothing ever seems to get resolved. Esteban wanted to climb over into her balcony and cut the alarm wires. Diego, the head of Accion’s office in Colombia, said “that’s a very Argentine way of solving problems.” What’s the Colombian way? It seems to be talking, talking, talking….

This entry was posted in Life in Colombia, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What to do?

  1. marsy says:

    I just found your blog and I’m loving it!! This one made me laugh and I totally agree on the cultural differences. It is so interesting, isn’t it.

Leave a Reply

