I am back….

I woke up today feeling good. Saige seems alot better. Everybody else is healthy. It’s a beautiful day outside. I went out on the balcony which overlooks the mountains and did some yoga in the sunshine and meditated. I haven’t done yoga in awhile so my body feels very rigid. Rigid body, rigid mind, so I am committing myself to doing yoga regularly. It feels so good to stretch! And yet I can hear the voices “You already have so much you are doing. How are you going to find the time to do yoga regularly? It doesn’t do any good unless you do it regularly. Richard Hittleman’s book says you can’t skip more than a day. Blah. Blah. Blah.” Self care is always the thing that’s first to go and yet, I know better. “If mama is happy, everybody is happy.”

I am feeling grateful again for being here this morning. The beauty of the mountains and of the casitas (little houses with beautiful terra-cotta colored roofs). The animals running around. The roosters crowing. The peace. I feel so blessed to have the opportunity to live surrounded by all of these. And to have the abundant help so I can write and do yoga and go for walks and explore things in Colombia and, of course, spend lots of quality non-stressed time with my children. Once again, this feels like a sabbatical after a decade of stressing and juggling kids and work and single parenting due to Esteban’s travel schedule. I am remembering again why I like life in developing countries – the pace of life is slower, things are simpler, and let’s be honest, life is a lot cheaper so we can afford the nice lifestyle all while saving a lot of money for the kids’ college fund. Win, win.

On a different note, I am going to look into joining the American Women’s Society of Bogota. It’s not just for Americans. There are a lot of expats from different countries as well as Colombians who are interested in hanging out with the expat crowd. I have been somewhat hesitant to join this crowd because I have a tendency to want to get away from others like me and to explore something different, in this case, life among Colombians. And when all is going well, I am pretty happy living amongst Colombians. It feels like a very special opportunity. However, when things aren’t going so well and I feel homesick or lonely or foreign, it might be nice to have others like myself to connect with (or to bitch to, so I don’t bore all of you!).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

