Another long Summer break…

It’s a holiday here (nobody seems to know which one – there are toms of holidays here) and Esteban is traveling again (NYC, Nigeria, Barcelona – all in 5 days!) so our nanny and I took the kids on a little excursion. We went to a beautiful nearby town which is also the home of Alpina, Colombia’s largest dairy producer. They have a store stocked with all kinds of cheeses, dairy products, desserts and ice cream. Set in a park with a kids’ playground and beautiful mountain scenery. Heaven for the kids!

We had a great time and yet, I find myself a little anxious that Siena is done with school this week and Jade is done next week… until the first week of February!! It’s a long break and I am, frankly, not ready for it. I feel like we are finally getting into the groove here, the kids at school, me with my routine and interests, Esteban and I with working from home. I like our life and I am not that excited about changing up the routine again. No summer camp and our nanny can’t really take the girls anywhere on her own. I am going to need to come up with things for us to do and be flexible. I guess that’s the name of the game now, flexibility.

On the positive side, we have quite a few trips planned during break – to Cartagena and the Caribbean coast for a couple of weeks with my parents, a road trip to Medellin with a jungle stay thrown in late December and somewhere else in January (haven’t agreed on it yet). If only Esteban didn’t have to work! (A girl can dream…)

This entry was posted in parenting in Colombia, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

