The Green Stuff

I am so excited! I got lots of fresh, organic, grown with clean water veggies today! Getting them was like a drug deal. The guy who owns the finca doesn’t usually deliver to Chia but his daughter takes ballet classes here on Tuesdays so I was to meet him in a parking lot to do the veggie/cash exchange. Sounds simple enough but nothing is simple when driving in Colombia in the pouring rain after dark.

The school is out in the country, outside of Chia. The roads were very poorly lit. There were no signs. There were however lots of trucks and cars driving at neck breaking speed, passing each other on the one lane road. And then there were the motorcyclists and tons of byciclists, all without any reflective gear. It was so hard to see them that it is a miracle that I didn’t kill anybody. The school was on an unmarked road off another unmarked road. Needless to say we got lost. It doesn’t feel good to be lost in Colombia after dark with two young girls in the back seat. (Luckily they were oblivious to my anxiety and sang Christmas carols in Spanish at the top of their lungs the entire way.)

All is well that ends well. We found the parking lot. We made the exchange. Somehow I confused kilos and pounds (1 kilo equals 2.2 pounds) so I have more veggies than I know what to do with. But what a bounty… watercress, lettuce, kale, bok choy, spinach, parseley, broccoli, cauliflower, tomatoes, carrots, sprouts, oh my! Green juice, how I have missed you!

Tomorrow, I really test my mettle and push past my fears… I am driving to Bogota! A city of eleven million crazy drivers. Wish me luck and that I come back in one piece (needless to say I am not taking the kids with me for my first run).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Green Stuff

  1. Eva says:

    Drive safe dear friend – or maybe it’s better if you drive not safely there… yes! Drive like a maniac!!!
    😉
    and know that I’m thinking of you…
    Eva

Leave a Reply

