Civilization and lots of photos of Buenos Aires

We got up early and made it to the airport in time to catch our flight to Buenos Aires. We flew TACA this time and it didn’t compare to Avianca. Saige was happy and full of energy. She is on four different medications at the moment and seems to be doing better. She still complains about her stomach but not as much as before. She is however attached to my breast most of the time and wants to be held. It’s understandable of course but exhausting at the same time, especially since she decided not to sleep during the flight again. Ughh!

Tango in the streets of Buenos Aires

On a different note, Buenos Aires is amazing! Before I write about it though, I feel like I have to put in a disclaimer. This blog is just a compilation of my experiences, thoughts, feeling and opinions. I often worry about offending people by what I write, especially my Colombian friends, who read this blog. I have thought about it long and hard and decided that as a writer, I need to continue to share my experiences, thoughts and feelings from my perspective as honestly as I can without worrying about offending people. If I do that, I will have to take out the majority of what I write and the writing, in my opinion, will become boring and staid. Everything that is written is a matter of perspective and since this blog is a record of our adventures and the accompanying growth that comes with travel and life in a foreign culture, I choose to share as honestly as I can.

Having voiced my disclaimer, arriving in Buenos Aires was like returning to civilization for me. I have visited this city many times over the past eighteen years, first for work with the World Bank and later, to visit Esteban’s family but I have never appreciated it as much as I did on this trip. Beautiful architecture, green parks, broad avenues, culture galore, clean streets, bookstores everywhere, cute boutiques, sharply dressed people, cafes, amazing food, delicious ice cream – the list could go on and on. Even the traffic seemed fairly orderly compared to Bogota. People actually stopped on yellow lights and stayed in their lanes! I remember being terrified of taxi rides in Buenos Aires on previous visits, but this time, they seemed tame. Everything is a matter of perspective and eight months of living in Colombia have certainly changed mine.

I love it here! I feel like I can relax in a way that I haven’t been able to in eight months. I don’t stand out as an obvious foreigner here (until I open my mouth) since many people look and dress like me and I can wonder around the city without worrying about safety any more than I would in a nice neighborhood of any large city.

The neighborhood where we rented our apartment for the week, Palermo Soho, is fantastic – full of restaurants, cafes with outdoor terraces, boutiques and green parks. It’s one of the hippest neighborhoods in Buenos Aires and a welcome break from our “pueblo” (small town) life.

Tonight, we went for dinner to a pizza and pasta place right around the corner from our apartment. It was so delicious – fresh mozzarella, prosciutto, and basil pizza and huge salads, where I don’t have to worry that the vegetables were grown with dirty water. I am in heaven!

Here are some photos of Buenos Aires:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

