Generational Mix

Saige, our 22 month old, slept until 10 am today. I love the Argentine schedule!

Esteban took Siena, our 6 year old, to the Davis Cup today so Jade, our 9 year old, Saige and I had the day to ourselves. We started it off with a leisurely breakfast. Jade had crepes of dulce de leche, a caramel spread and an Argentine national obsession.

Jade with her favorite breakfast - a crepe of dulce de leche and freshly squeezed orange juice

We then went to get tickets for Jade and I to Mama Mia tomorrow night, followed by a taxi ride to MALBA, the new museum of modern American art. The taxi driver asked where I was from and found it very amusing when I replied, “from all over the place.”
“I want to get out of Argentina,” he said. “I am tired of it. It’s the same thing every day. It’s like potato chips. You have a couple and they taste great, but after several bags, who wants more potato chips?” I guess I am not the only person to seek novelty and adventure.

MALBA was a really worthwhile museum and I appreciate every opportunity to expose my kids to culture. We had to move fast though because Saige’s patience for sitting in the backpack carrier is not very long.

Moving fast wasn’t a problem however because the main exhibit was not recommended for children under 18. It was a compilation of work by American artists that depicted their perception of the degradation of American culture over the past thirty years.
I was fascinated by the topic and decided to peak in. Most of the exhibits, photographs depicting nudity and drug use, were above Jade’s head and I thought we were in the clear until we reached the last room. There we saw a huge (15 by 30 foot) and very graphic moving sculpture of two George Bushes sodamizing pigs. I tried to leave this room quickly, but Jade saw the sculpture and asked, “What’s that, Mom?”

“Oh, a very creative way for an artist to express his dislike of George Bush,” I replied. She seemed satisfied with that answer. Phew! We did live in Washington DC during George Bush’s presidencies and she was used to hearing anti-Bush rhetoric and seeing “Impeach Bush” signs all over town.

After a quick tour of the museum, we headed to Esteban’s uncle’s house for a barbeque with family and friends. This part of the family has many friends who are artists, poets and writers and there were some very interesting and lively discussions. Jade had a great time playing with some of the younger kids.

What impressed me most, other than the warm hospitality, was that there didn’t seem to be a generational divide – the teenagers and twenty-somethings hung out with us old folks and participated fully in all of the conversations. It was hard to imagine this in the States where there seems to be a big divide between “the young” and “the old”.

I don’t know how they do it, but I am curious to find out. I want my kids to grow up without these generational hang ups.

Here are some photos of our day:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Argentina, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

