Yet Another Holiday!

It’s yet another public holiday here today, Labor Day, and the kids are off from school yet again. With eighteen public holidays per year, Colombia probably has the most holidays in the world.

I was supposed to go to a workshop in downtown Bogota today but I didn’t because there are protests which not only block traffic but often turn violent. There has already been a clash between police and protesters and several Molotov cocktails found around the city. I was disappointed not to go because I have been dying to go to Bogota and make connections with some other coaches who share my interests and values, but many Colombian friends told us that it would not be smart for a gringa like me to go to a somewhat unsavory part of town while there were major protests going on. It seems prudent to not put myself into a potentially dangerous situation.

This entry was posted in Life in Colombia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

