I have Come A Long Way!

I had a very Thelma and Louise moment this morning (except that I was alone). I got up, got dressed up and drove to check out a school in La Calera, about an hour away from Chia. What’s so special about that?

I will tell you. The sun was shining, reflecting magnificently off the Andes mountains. I was driving on winding, narrow mountain roads, passing slow trucks and making it back into my lane just in the nick of time, like a native. As I passed gorgeous farms with cows grazing in the pastures, I thought about how far I have come in the past ten months.

I remember how concerned I was about security and kidnapping before we moved to Colombia. I remember how scared I was to drive when we arrived here. I had to idea how to drive a stick shift and the crazy driving terrified me.

Fast forward eight months and I am driving over an hour by myself on very curvy mountain roads, past tiny villages and gorgeous mountain scenery. I can pass cars with the best of them. In fact, Jade our oldest daughter recently said to me, “You better not get too used to this kind of driving Mom, or you will get lots of tickets when we go back home.”

I have come a long way, baby.

This entry was posted in Life in Colombia, School stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

