Happy Birthday Jade!!!!

Jade, my firstborn, is turning 10 years old today! She is so grown up – past my chin at this point (and I am 5’6). I can’t believe it! How did this happen? It seems like just yesterday (or twenty years ago depending on what kind of night I have with our two year old, who is not sleeping well) she was a little cute baby, curled up in my arms.

OK, I will stop the nostalgic mama rambling. Let’s just say that Jade is very excited to be entering the land of double digits. “Mom, I am almost a teenager!” she squealed excitedly.

“Yes honey, we are all looking forward to that,” I said, trying to hide my sarcasm.

Jade was too excited to even notice my lack of enthusiasm, especially because she already has three friends at the new school who are bringing her presents. Her birthday will be a three day celebration. Cake at school today followed by a family dinner at WOK, her favorite restaurant here in Chia.

Then tomorrow night, several girls will be sleeping over and since Friday is yet another holiday here in Colombia, we will take them all to Jaime Duque, an amusement park. Let the festivities begin!

This entry was posted in Life in Colombia, parenting in Colombia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Birthday Jade!!!!

  1. Eva says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY JADE!!!!
    I remember well the early days of walking with your Mom at Rock Creek – you and baby Coltin in our Baby slings – talking about life and wondering what you and he will be like in this life…
    YOU’RE GROWING UP INTO SUCH A LOVELY, VIVACIOUS PERSON!
    I am celebrating getting to watch you grow for 10 years!
    With love, Eva

Leave a Reply

