I Survived the Dentist!

I am a major wimp when it comes to going to the dentist. I was born and spent the first eight years of my life in the Soviet Union, where teeth were pulled and cavities filled without novocaine. I learned early on to fear the dentist.

You would think that given my experiences I would avoid dentists like the plague. Quite the opposite actually. I arrived to the United States at the age of eight with nine cavities, thanks to lack of fluoride and Soviet dentistry. I remember having to get all the cavities filled and then enduring years of braces. I figure that I have so much invested in my teeth that I better take care of them and avoid more complicated (read, scary and painful) procedures like root canals.

Thai said and given my fear  I have always chosen dentists carefully in the States, going to dentists who are very highly recommended. So it was quite a leap of faith that I scheduled an appointment with a dentist at our local clinic here in Chia. I was just too lazy to go all the way to Bogota to see a “top” dentist. I was however very nervous.

Well, the good news is that the dentist was nice and the cleaning was very gentle. The bad news is that the dentist found a small cavity and the whole cleaning lasted less than 5 minutes. I brush longer with my electric toothbrush. It didn’t really feel like my teeth were any cleaner than when I came in.

So I am thinking that I have to suck it up and drive to the big, bad city and see a “top dentist to get the filling. I am a dentistry snob and I am OK with that.

This entry was posted in Health issues, Life in Colombia, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

