Tough choices

Jade’s homework in fourth grade at her new school was to write about “What would you rather have, good health and food to eat or a place to live and a safe environment?”

“What do you think?” Jade asked Esteban and I.

I thought for a moment and responded, ” I would rather have good health and food to eat because without food, we can’t survive and without good health, nothing else really matters.”

“What do you think?” Jade asked our housekeeper.

“Definitely a place to live”, she replied.

“Why?” I asked, aware that out of all of us in this house, she is the only one who probably ever had to make choices between feeding her kids or paying the rent or taking her sick kids to the doctor.

“Because”, she answered, “you can always get food somewhere and the government pays for health (I think she means doctors), but without a place to live, you can’t get a job to feed your kids or any of the government benefits.”

“Interesting”, Esteban and I said in unison as we looked at each other. I hope we never have to make choices like this but I love that the school is asking Jade to think about these things.

, Esteban and I looked at each

This entry was posted in Life in Colombia, parenting in Colombia, School stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

