So Grateful!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today was Esteban’s birthday so we celebrated with breakfast at the best pancake place in town, Sound Bites and then dinner at an amazing Nuevo Mexican place in Inman Square.

The rest of the day we spent with a friend and her girls. It was great to hang out with them but in the four hours we spent in their house, my friend and I sat down for maybe twenty minutes total!  The rest of the time we spent cooking, cleaning, serving, playing with the kids and repeating this process over and over.

I have decided that American mothers are my heroes. The amount of work that goes into maintaining a family and a household is astounding. Now don’t get me wrong, I know that there are a lot of women who have much, much harder lives. Lives full of extremely poverty, war and violence. I am honestly just comparing the lives of my friends (and how I lived for a decade since my oldest child was born) with my cushy life back in Colombia. And not just my life as an expat, but pretty much every woman’s from the middle class up. It really is cushy! I am more grateful than ever for my housekeeper and nanny in Colombia! I don’t mean to sound obnoxious but I am going to savor every minute. I am blessed and I know it!

“You are spoiled Mom,” said my oldest, echoing something she has often heard me say. (I cover my embarrassment about all of my household help by pointing out that I am spoiled before anybody else can).

Today, however, I replied. “No, I am not spoiled. Spoiled to me implies somebody who doesn’t appreciate all of the bounty in their lives. I appreciate all of the bounty in my life. I am so grateful!”

This entry was posted in USA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

