I Don’t Understand My Kids!

And I don’t mean that I don’t understand them because they are 2, 7 and 10 and do strange and incomprehensive things often. I mean that as they have become super fluent in Spanish (or should I say “Colombian”), they talk a hundred miles an hour and use Colombian colloquialisims and sayings which I just don’t understand. Especially at the end of a long day.

It’s actually kind of a problem. I can ask my oldest to talk to me in English and she does. But when I ask my middle daughter to tell me whatever she just  said in English, she responds with, “I don’t know how to say it in English, Mom”, and proceeds to fire away in Spanish. And I understand maybe 50%. Luckily my 2-year old’s vocabulary has not yet surpassed mine.

They are fluent in Spanish now and I know that this is precisely one of the main reasons that we moved to Colombia – so that the kids could become fluent in Spanish. I just didn’t realize how hard it would be to communicate with them once their Spanish surpassed mine. Oops!

This entry was posted in Expat life, parenting in Colombia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Don’t Understand My Kids!

  1. DianA says:

    Hi, have just accepted a job in a school in Colombia and am moving over as a single mom with a 12 year old. Give having panic attacks about whether am being reckless or whether is a great adventure! What is it like with a soon to be teen in bogota? Can you offer me any reassuring words? 😊 Diana

  2. I can definitely offer you reassuring words. Overall I think adolescence is much more wholesome in Colombia, with drugs, alcohol and sex much less prevalent than in the US. I am actually scared to move back to the US with adolescents.

Leave a Reply

