Sorry to have disappeared!

I haven’t had much time or inspiration to write for this blog during the past month. My beloved grandmother passed away last week after a 26-year battle with leukemia. She was an incredible woman – an accomplished cardiologist who considered her work her calling, an amazing mom and grandma, who always made sure we knew that we were her priority, and a great friend, who taught me the value of cultivating friendships and creating community. I was very close to my grandma and spent a week with her in the hospital a few weeks ago, talking, telling her how much she means to me and giving her foot massages which she loved.

It wasn’t nearly enough. I wished that I could be there until the end, holding her hand until she died, but I had to return to Colombia to be with my three girls. My grandma went into hospice at my parents’ house who took care of her with great love and attention to her every need. I flew back to Chicago as soon as I got the call that my grandma was declining rapidly and arrived in my parents’ house a few minutes after she passed away. It was hard. I know that I did the best I could but this whole experience also made me realize the price we pay for being so far away from home and, more importantly, so far away from our loved ones. Sometimes we miss the most important moments. 

 

This entry was posted in Expat life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sorry to have disappeared!

  1. Eva says:

    I am so sorry to hear about you Grandma, Natalie!
    I’m holding you in my thoughts and heart.
    With love,
    Eva

  2. Lynn says:

    I am so very sorry to hear this news. I know it’s hard to be so far away and lose someone so dear to you. Thinking about you….
    Much love,
    Lynn

    • Thanks Lynn!!! I really appreciate it! how are you? How was Bali? Being back in DC? My mom is here this weekend and then we leave for Bolivia next wednesaday but maybe we can do a Skype call next Mon or Tues eve to have the girls say hi and talk ourselves. xo, natalie

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

