Time to Get Back on the Horse (with photos)

It’s time for me to get back on the horse, both literally and metaphorically. Metaphorically because I haven’t had much energy and inspiration to write since my grandmother passed away. I have been grieving in solitude, at least as much as is possible with three kids around. But as every writer knows, a writer needs to write (now there is some sage advice for you…)

It’s also time to get back on the horse literally because my middle daughter Siena, our equestrian enthusiast, has inspired me to start taking horseback riding lessons again. this time it will be with a group of adults, not with the perky 4 year old who could stand up in the saddle with no fear and say, “Look, it’s easy. This is how you do it.”

But more about that later. For now, I would like to brag a little about Siena because seeing her on a horse just takes my breath away. Her confidence, skill in controlling the horse and love for the animal is palpable. She is barely 4 feet tall (if that) and weights around 50 pounds but is somehow capable of controlling a half-ton beast as it jumps over half and three-quarter meter hurdles.

Siena participated in a couple of equestrian competitions last weekend and she was amazing! She led a group of riders in the first competition and was the youngest to compete in the half-meter jumping competition, a ten-station obstacle course. She did really well in both of the competitions! We are really proud of her!

sept 25, 2013 166 sept 25, 2013 176 sept 25, 2013 180

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time to Get Back on the Horse (with photos)

  1. Eva says:

    Hey Natalie,
    I was just missing you this morning.
    I’m sorry that this is such a difficult time in your life. I remember how precious your Grandma was to you.
    If there’s anything I can do or say that would help you through – know that I’d like to.
    Hugs, Eva

    • Thanks Eva for your very kind words. they came at just the right time. My mom is here visiting now and she is really struggling. I am actually doing Ok. The grieving feels like an honoring, of my grandma and of our relationship, and it feels right to grieve while also appreciating the bounty of my life. My mom I am worried about as she just told me she doesn’t want to live anymore. My grandma was her best friend. Her marriage is on the major rocks. And we are far away. It is going to be a long and cold winter for her in Chicago. And yet I have to trust that she is going through her own process and that she needs to go through this. It’s hard to be with and harder still to have her go back to Chicago on her own in a few days. anyway, how are you? how is settling back into real life? Miss you, Natalie

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

