We are off to India!

Yep, you read that right. I have dreamed of going to India for years and it is finally happening… for six weeks… with three kids (ages 4, 9 and 12)! Yikes! I am very excited and somewhat terrified (illnesses, extreme poverty, etc.) I feel like all my travels and all of our family travels have lead up to this and I really hope that we are up to the challenge. Everybody who I know who has been there asks me if I am ready, if I am emotionally prepared for India.

What can I say? I have read tons of books. I have read travelers’ blogs which are full of amazing photos of magnificent sights and also stories of heartbreaking poverty and people surviving in dire circumstances. I have read about more diarrhea tales than I care to remember. So am I prepared? Probably not. How do I prepare for something I have never experienced before? How do I prepare my girls for facing such harsh realities of life?

I don’t know but we are about to find out. I feel like India will test all of us, as individuals, as parents and as a family. I feel up to the test.

On a more practical note, just where in India will we  going? All over. My husband has quite abit of work to do while we are there but we will still carve out some time to see New Delhi, Mumbai, the blue city of Jodhpur, Agra and the Taj Mahal, take care of elephants in Jaipur, stay with a desert family in their huts and ride camels near Osian, ride horses through the mountains near Udaipur, visit the famous Golden Temple in Amritsar and go to the border ceremony on the India/Pakistan border, hang out on the backwaters in Kerala, stay on a tea plantation in Munnar, and even brave Varanasi, a city on the River Ganges considered by Hindus to be the holiest place to be cremated (publicly!) This is going to be the adventure of a lifetime!

This entry was posted in India, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

